Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel Peace Prize Goes to 3 Activists for Women’s Rights and Democracy
October 7, 2011

Three women who have pursued a nonviolent path to advance women’s rights and democracy in Africa and Asia shared the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced this morning. The winners are Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, president of Liberia and Africa’s first democratically elected female president; Leymah Gbowee, who organized and mobilized women across ethnic and religious lines to bring an end to civil war in Liberia; and Tawakkul Karman, a leading activist for women’s rights, democracy, and peace in strife-torn Yemen. They will receive the prize, worth about $1.5-million this year, at a ceremony in December.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: